Would you take a book deal?

Why go indie? After the independence of the indie route if you were offered the chance to go ‘trad’ would you take it?
 

Eric Diehl

I would certainly consider it, depending on the terms, if for no other reason than the fact that I still have little name recognition out there in the big world. If and when I do gain a significant indie following, then a contract would become a much harder sell.

Brandon Luffman

I’ve learned to never say never. I’m not opposed to the traditional publishing system, but there are benefits to being independent that the traditional publishers can’t normally match. I would consider an offered book deal, but knowing what I know now, chances are good that I would turn it down. There’s a lot to be said for the assistance that a traditional publisher can offer. If you can simplify your life, that’s often the best route. But, being independent gives you a lot of value for all the work you have to put in.

Tina Glasneck

It would all depend on the parameters of the book deal. Most writers will never become rich from their work, I am aware of that, and I don’t write for the sole purpose of gaining wealth; there are easier ways of doing that, I hear.

No, I write to tell stories that are screaming to get out of my head! It’s magical seeing something in your mind and bringing it forth. Story-telling allows readers to participate in the writer’s imagination; it allows the reader to shift from one world to another – either make believe or another version of this reality. There is something great about being able to make stuff up for a living and to follow one’s passion in doing it! If the book deal would hinder my creativity by placing constraints on what I could do, should produce or the market niche I am to chase after, then I would have to decline it.

MR Cornelius

Good question. Maybe I’d take a book deal for a hardback or paperback because the traditional publishers can get you into the big-box stores. But why would I need them for e-books? I’ve got Amazon for that.

Deborah J Hughes

Yes!  But I would want to retain my rights to e-publishing.  Much as I love having my book read electronically…I would love to walk into a book store and see my books on their shelves!

Anthea Carson

Ah ha! The old, ‘you only are self published by necessity not by choice’ trick. Well, I am currently offered a publishing deal from the same publisher who published my other books, and I am truly struggling to decide whether to go with her. The one condition, she says, is that I can no longer offer my book The Dark Lake as an indie book. She thinks those indie books are trash. I don’t agree, and I don’t think there is more money going with her. I will still have to do all the work of promoting, and I will be added the extra burden of trying to sell a book for more than people wish to pay for it. I will take pretty much the same amount of money from each sale. I don’t see the advantage, but on the other hand, like I said before, I like hiding behind respectability. Now if the deal were great, and it was a well known publisher, and they were going to do all the promoting, and I was going to make large sums of money and be on talk shows and have their name backing me up, I would take that deal.

R Stephenson

Only if I could retain full rights to the electronic version of my work.

Rosemary Lynch

If it was the right deal, yes.

J. Naomi Ay

I don’t know.  There’s a lot of opinions on going indie and retaining your rights and royalties vs. having that big budget marketing and possible film exposures.  I’d love to have to make that decision though.  Bring them on!

Melissa Love

It depends on the publishing company – if it was a top publishing company then I would say yes.

Jeremy Laszlo

I am not a person to close a door before ever having looked inside.  That being said, it would have to be a very sweet deal of the likes they never give to new authors.  So for me it is unlikely, but not completely written off just yet.

Darlene Jones

That would depend on the deal. I think traditional publishing is falling by the wayside. The tradional publishers missed out on the whole electronic scene.

Emiliana Erriquez

I really don’t know. I mean, I like being an indie very much. But it depends, maybe yes, maybe not.

Whitney Moore

I don’t know. I’ve thought about this often. I wonder if I would because I’ve heard of indies getting picked up and the publisher then having them re-edit their book and changing it totally. It’s not always a bad thing and editing is definitely something I am obsessive about in my own work but it reinforces my conviction that in the mainstream market there is definitely only one type of book dressed in multiple genres.

Larissa Hinton

I would definitely consider it and start sending off letters to agents who might be interested in reviewing the contract. But would I automatically sign the dotted line without double checking with the terms? No. Would I shove it away and snub it in their face? Absolutely not. I am willing to give all opportunities an equal and fair chance.

Elizabeth Baxter

That’s a tough question. It would depend on the deal. It would have to offer me something that self-publishing doesn’t and I’m a little skeptical that it could do that. Having said that, I’ve heard of a lot of indie publishers taking traditional contracts, so I’d have to sit down and give it some serious thought.

Sarka-Jonae Miller

Probably. I think Between Boyfriends would make a great movie and it would have a much better chance getting there with help from a large publishing house. However, I would not take the book deal if it meant I had to change the ending or shorten my three-book series. I firmly believe that characters should develop in a believable timeline. My main character, Jan, is truly a sweet person inside but needs years to fix the type of insecurities and issues she has. Watching her grow and learn and repair relationships overtime is part of the fun. When she finally gets her happy ending it will seem real and more importantly she will have earned it. Would it have been as satisfying if Big and Carrie worked everything out in season 2 of Sex and the City? Not at all. We watched them grow and struggle for 10 years (in TV/movie time) before they finally got together. It takes as long as it takes.

David Berger

That would depend on the deal. I’m not willing to relinquish any creative control or any authorial control, but I would be open to a traditional publisher picking up my work.

Deanna Lynn Sletten

I would love a book deal if I could set the terms. It would have to be a very patient publisher.

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

