Interview with an indie author (Deanna Lynn Sletten)

In the last of this series…  Deanna Lynn Sletten, author of Memories; Widow, Virgin, Whore; and Outlaw Heroes

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

This is a difficult question to answer because I have so many favorites. The first book that popped into my mind was Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I could read that book over and over again.

Which authors influenced you most?

I’m not sure if these authors influenced me because I would never say that I write like any of them, but they did influence my love of reading. F. Scott Fitzgerald for his wit and smooth writing style, Louisa May Alcott because Little Women was the first book I fell in love with and of course, Charlotte Bronte, because I just love the beautiful old-time writing style of Jane Eyre.

What made you go indie?

To be quite honest, I went indie because after sending out dozens of query letters to agents and publishers and getting nowhere, I decided that if I wanted to publish my books, I’d have to do it myself. I haven’t regretted it at all. It’s the best decision I could have made.

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

I love having total control over everything from the writing of the book to the editing and formatting and having a hand in creating the book cover (with a lot of help). I even enjoy the whole promotion process even though it can be a lot of work.

What’s your least favourite part?

I really don’t have a least favorite part, I enjoy the whole process.

Summarise your writing style (or books) in 100 words or less:

When I’m writing, I like showing the reader a little bit of each character at a time and let the reader learn more as the story unfolds. Characters are the main focus of all of my books. It is their lives and who they are and what happens to them that creates the story. If the characters stay stagnant, then there is no story. Hopefully, people see the characters grow
and change and enjoy reading about their lives. One reviewer said of my book, Widow, Virgin, Whore, that she kept thinking about the characters long after she’d finished the book. If that is true, then I have accomplished my goal.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

I would love a book deal if I could set the terms. It would have to be a very patient publisher.

Why should someone pick-up your book(s)?

Because they are honest stories with real-life characters who experience real situations. You walk away feeling like you know these characters personally. The books are entertaining and readers seem to connect with the characters and their stories. As for my children’s book, Outlaw Heroes, it is just plain fun!

What formats is it/are they available in and where?

Memories is a Women’s Fiction/Romance novel and is available in Kindle eBook format for $2.99 and paperback for $8.99 on Amazon.

Widow, Virgin, Whore is a Women’s Fiction/Family Drama novel available in Kindle eBook format for $2.99 on Amazon.

Outlaw Heroes is a Children’s Fiction/Action/Adventure novel for kids ages 10 and up. It is available in Kindle eBook format for $2.99 on Amazon and will soon be available in paperback for $6.99 on Amazon.

Readers can visit me at my blog, goodreads, Twitter or Facebook.

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Deanna Lynn Sletten)

  1. Looks great! Thanks so much for the interview.

  2. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  4. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  5. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

