Interview with an indie author (Whitney Moore)

Whitney Moore, author of Cupcakes and the Centre of the Universe

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

I just went to a book fair and found a second edition of Brideshead Revisited so I’m kind of in love with that right now. But on the other hand I would probably end up talking to the stork.

Which authors influenced/influence you most?

I started reading thrillers and science-fiction when I was 10 and I read all but two of Michael Crichton’s books by the time I was 12. Then I discovered Douglas Adams and as much as Michael Crichton made me want to write about dinosaurs, Douglas Adams made me want to write period! He was the most exciting writer I had ever read and I’ve read the entire series of Hitchhiker’s Guide three times. Oscar Wilde was my next big influence.

What made you go indie?

For me there was nothing else I ever wanted to do. It took me a while to get over the despair even after the market opened up on Amazon – the feeling was that only mainstream authors were ‘real authors’. So, for me the real task has been changing my view of success. Really I have to give some credit here to Joanna Penn from the Creative Penn because she is always positive and realistic about indie publishing and marketing even when others aren’t.

The seeds for writing were planted when I was 10 and I started writing comic books just for myself. Then when I saw Jurassic Park I wanted to write a novel so bad I tried writing
one about the same subject. I wrote my first full length novel when I was 18 and tried my hand at self publishing on Lulu. It was so bad that I stopped thinking about being a professional writer in any capacity. I didn’t start trying again until I was in college and
found out about writing articles for money online. At that point I had a blog and was studying Visual Communications so the seeds were sprouted…

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

My favourite part of indie publishing is not having anyone tell me that I can’t do something within the process. Since I have a degree in graphic design cover art and interior layouts are important to me. Even if I wasn’t doing the actual layouts and designs for these things I would still want some say in it but in mainstream publishing authors don’t get any say in any of the other processes. I’ve read a lot of stories about mainstream authors who went indie because they didn’t like the cover design.

Also I like being able to write and publish absolutely any idea you could ever have and seeing if there is an audience for it rather than someone telling you the ‘rules of fiction’ and saying there is no market before it’s even been tried.

What’s your least favourite part?

I don’t know that I really have a least favourite part. Maybe I haven’t been in it long enough to have one yet. Right now I even love marketing even when it seems like I have
no resources or contacts I still like the reaction I get when I say I have a book out and the rush from knowing that I will have at least a small audience for the next one every time I put something else out there.

Summarise your writing style (or books) in 100 words or less:

Science-Fiction/Comedy with a hint of psychedelia and a dash of art student.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

I don’t know. I’ve thought about this often. I wonder if I would because I’ve heard of indies getting picked up and the publisher then having them re-edit their book and changing it totally. It’s not always a bad thing and editing is definitely something I am obsessive about in my own work but it reinforces my conviction that in the mainstream market there is definitely only one type of book dressed in multiple genres.

Why should someone pick-up your book(s)?

If you like or want to know what Sci-Fi/Comedy is like or if you want to read something that will be challenging to what a novel is (particularly as a visual medium) then buy Cupcakes and the Centre of the Universe. Also because it has a talking moose. Or just buy it for the cover. I frankly love the cover and haven’t gotten anything but positive feedback on it which would drive my old graphics teachers crazy!

What formats are they available in and where?

Cupcakes and the Centre of the Universe and Apocowlypto is available for Kindle on Amazon.  My first non-fiction book, Dare Them to Stop You,  is due out Aug 27th.

Also, follow me on Twitter! (@writeinlife) and read more on my blog.


About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Whitney Moore)

  1. Jason says:

    I would perhaps add to writing style, in my humble opinion, a touch of the absurd. I fear what the big publishers might do to writing with as much life in it as Whitney’s. Second edition of Brideshead Revisited, that is so cool, can I borrow it when you are done?

  2. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  4. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  5. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

