Interview with an indie author (Emiliana Erriquez)

Emiliana Erriquez, author of Leave Me Alone.

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

I think it would be A Man by Oriana Fallaci because I believe Fallaci tells us her love for the man she met in a wonderful way never forgetting to put it in the historical moment she had lived it. I have read all of her books, but yes A Man is my favourite one.

Which authors influenced/influence you most?

Well, first Oriana Fallaci, as I said before. She is one of my favourite writers and the one who inspired me most, together with Isabelle Allende. I would never tire of reading their books. But I have also read some great novelists such as Jane Austen, Virginia Wolf, Henry James, Salinger, Hemingway while I was at university so I think all this will have also influenced me somehow.

What made you go indie?

I tried traditional publishing in the past and found out it was hard for a new author to be noticed that way. The indie movement gave me the opportunity to reach people all over the world. I can share with them my ideas, my interests, my reviews, ask them for help and help them in return. I think it is wonderful. That’s my favourite part of indie publishing.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

I really don’t know. I mean, I like being an indie very much. But it depends, maybe yes, maybe not.

Summarise your writing style in 100 words or less:

I have written one book, Leave Me Alone. It is originally in Italian (Lasciami stare) but I translated it into English too. Leave Me Alone tells two stories: one is about a young girl whose memories are awakened by a journey, she tells the reader what she has suffered from and the way she tries to save her life; the other is about a little child who experiences a horrible event, one which really happened, that is the terrorist attack in one of the schools in Beslan.

Now I’m writing another book and I hope it will be available soon. It’s quite different from Leave Me Alone. It’s a story about love, loss and regrets.

Why should someone pick-up your book(s)?

Because it tells how people face their problems and all the events can happen in their lives, how they try to grow and get over them. There’s a lot of the ‘stream of consciousness’ style in Leave Me Alone so I think if people like that kind of writing maybe it would be a good reading for them.

What formats is it/are they available in and where?

Leave Me Alone is available on Amazon all over the world. You can find me on Twitter and on Facebook, Goodreads and Pinterest as Emiliana Erriquez. I also have a blog.

Thank you again Kelly!

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Emiliana Erriquez)

  1. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  2. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

