Interview with an indie author (Darlene Jones)

Darlene Jones, author of Empowered 

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

Oh man! Just one! That’s cruel. I’d probably want an old book that makes me laugh out loud and is a timeless portrayal of family. It’s called Mixed Marriage by Elizabeth Cadell.

Which authors influenced/influence you most?

I don’t think I can single out any one. I try to emulate authors who write well and tell a good story, one that makes you think, makes you want to keep reading, and makes you feel a bit sad when it’s over.

What made you go indie?

I was at a writers’ conference in Portland. My writing buddy and I both pitched our books to one agent. A week or two later we both got rejections from her. Here’s the punch line. For two different genres and two very different writing styles, she sent the exact same rejection note. Also, at the conference there was a lot of talk about self-publishing. One speaker said, “It’s taken me two years to get my client’s book published. Do it yourself, it will take two months.” We both thought, “Why not?”

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

Having control over everything and being able to do it all on my timeline.

What’s your least favourite part?

The marketing. It’s time consuming and I feel like I’m batting people over the head trying to get them to buy my book. People like you are a godsend to authors. We couldn’t do the marketing without you.

Summarise your writing style (or books) in 100 words or less:

My four books (two are published so far) are a scifi/romance series. They start with a woman who has her life taken over by “beings out there somewhere”. Trouble is the being in question is a rookie on his first assignment. Of course he messes up. The books are not typical scifi and are set on Earth. They have humor, but deal with some serious topics too. I like to think they are a good read with food for thought.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

That would depend on the deal. I think traditional publishing is falling by the wayside. The tradional publishers missed out on the whole electronic scene.

Why should someone pick-up your books?

Because they tell a good story. They will entertain you  and make you think and you will care about the characters.

What formats are they available in and where?

Print and ebook at Amazon and at Smashwords for all other eReaders. Go to my website for more information and for the links.

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Darlene Jones)

  1. Thank you for letting me visit and talk about my books (or should I say, my babies?)

  2. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  4. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  5. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

