Interview with an indie author (Jeremy Laszlo)

Jeremy Laszlo, author of The Blood & Brotherhood Saga

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

First off, the stork and I would have to have a lengthy conversation as I presume the desert island is probably fairly lonely.  If I could then coax him to leave once again and return with any book, and a family photo album is not an option, it would probably be Edgar Allen Poe’s Tales of Mystery and Imagination.

What made you go indie?

I decided to publish independently for various reasons, however the deciding factors for me were time and control.  At one point I had several agents that seemed interested, made suggestions dealing with my first manuscript, however none of them panned out.  I did not like the process of submitting to agents only to wait (sometimes for months) for a reply, and even at one point got a mass email (that was meant as an inner office joke) from one agency where they bulk rejected several hundred authors including myself without so much as reading a single submittal.  Apparently someone (who I will not name here) should learn what “reply all” means.  That was the real turning point for me, however the ability to control the entire publishing process myself was a great bonus as well.

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

I think the learning process has been my favorite part, though at some points the learning curve is quite steep.  Also hearing from all of my fans is terrific though I suppose I would have heard from them had I published traditionally as well.

What’s your least favourite part?

Though I am not a huge fan of the editing and revising process, it is no longer my least favorite part.  For me, it is the anxiousness and uncertainty that comes with each new book I publish.  Wondering how it will be received by my readers, if they will enjoy it as much as the previous book and such.  Thus far however all of my fears and anxieties have been unfounded.

Summarise your writing style (or books) in 100 words or less:

My books are great in the way they blur the lines between genres.  Though they start off with the feel of a traditional epic fantasy they grow darker and grittier as the stories progress becoming something akin to dark fantasy with paranormal elements as well.  So, if you love fantasy, my books will definitely appeal to you no matter what sub genre you prefer.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

I am not a person to close a door before ever having looked inside.  That being said, it would have to be a very sweet deal of the likes they never give to new authors.  So for me it is unlikely, but not completely written off just yet.

Why should someone pick-up your book(s)?

As the author I am of course biased, but in my honest opinion they are each an amazing fantasy read of the like that no one has ever seen before.  Don’t take my word for it though, visit Amazon and read the reviews for yourself.

What events might readers find in your first novel that were inspired by events in your own life?

There are several in the first book of The Blood and Brotherhood Saga alone, however as I try not to write spoilers for my own books I will limit myself to only discussing one here.

In Chapter one you meet a pair of brothers preparing to leave home for a ceremony.  Though one of the brothers is excited to go, both are uneasy about leaving behind the only life they have ever known, as well as leaving behind their friends and loved ones.  This particular scene was written to reflect what I felt in my twenties when I was in the United States Marine Corps and was about to head off to war.  At the time I was very worried, not for myself, but for my wife and eldest daughter who was only six months old at the time.  I worried about how they would cope in my absence and of course worried for their saftey as well.  It was a very emotional and trying time, torn between my duty to my country and my duty to my family, but looking back it was necessary to make me who I am today.

How do you show your readers appreciation for their support?

First off I encourage my readers to contact me as it is only through their direct feedback that I know exactly what parts of my books they loved, who are their favorite characters, or what surprised them or caught them off guard.  I respond to each and every email I receive from my readers, generally within 24 hours.  Secondly I hold contests and giveaways on my website for those who have read my books.  Currently I am giving away an Amazon Kindle and Amazon gift cards in a book trivia promotion that ends in June. 

What formats are they available in and where?

All of my books are currently only available on Amazon for Kindle, however I plan to have them available at B&N within the next few months for those who prefer their Nook, and am also toying with the idea of making them available in paperback as well.  I have always wanted to do a book signing.  Until then however you can find my books here:

The Choosing (Book 1 of The Blood & Brotherhood Saga)

The Chosen (Book 2 of The Blood & Brotherhood Saga)

The Changing (Book 3 of The Blood & Brotherhood Saga)

Author Bio:

First and foremost I am a father and a husband. I work full time as a civilian employed by the US army, and have also been known as a welder, electrician, carpenter, roofer, writer, painter, CNC machinist, and amongst many other things a romantic. I also belong to the eternal fraternal brotherhood of the United States Marine Corps, having served 8 years that showed me a much broader perspective of the world at large serving in Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation Enduring Freedom, The war on Terrorism, and the humanitarian effort in Liberia.

I currently live in southern Louisiana with my wife and children, though I grew up in Michigan, graduating high school in Mason MI. I also spent time living in North Carolina, Florida, and California during my time in the United States Marine Corps. I have always dreamed of publishing my work, and seeing it on a bookshelf in a store, however with the huge shift to digital media I finally realized that the dream was in my own hands. I tell my children that they can live their dreams, and I believe in leading by example.

I enjoy writing across several different genres from poetry, to children’s stories, to full epic fantasies. Creating new characters for my readers to connect with, new worlds for them to immerse themselves in, and new ideas to wrap their minds around is an amazing if not humbling experience. I hope that all my readers can take something away from each of my books, and enjoy reading them just as much as I have enjoyed putting them in print.
Semper Fidelis

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Jeremy Laszlo)

  1. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  2. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

