Interview with an indie author (J Naomi Ay)

J. Naomi Ay, author of The Boy who Lit up the Sky

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

My favorite book of all time is Pride and Prejudice.  I would re-read that again and again.  I love Gone with the Wind too, that’s a close second to P & P.

Which authors influenced/influence you most?

I love so many authors both contemporary and classic.  I can’t really say who might have influenced me the most.  

What made you go indie?

I really just did it on a whim.  I had written the novel for myself more than 20 years ago and didn’t think it would ever see the light of day.  I wasn’t brave enough to start querying agents or publishers so I really did nothing with it.  I didn’t know if it was good or bad and frankly, I thought anybody who read it might have thought I was crazy for imagining all this.  I got an iPad last year and started downloading ebooks and then sort of stumbled on Amazon KDP and figured out I could do it too and do it under a pen name. Even after I published, I didn’t tell anyone until I started having some reasonable sales numbers and then I came clean to friends and family.

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

It’s fast and easy and I control it.  Now I have a copy editor and some beta readers who give me suggestions but they are just that, suggestions and I don’t have to take them if I don’t want to.

What’s your least favourite part?

The marketing.  It’s a big pond but right now it’s overflowing with fish.  Trying to get someone to snag mine is the challenge, especially when there is no budget to work with.

Summarise your writing style (or books) in 100 words or less:

My series is a little bit SciFi, a lot of Fantasy with a healthy dose of Romance.  It takes place at some undetermined time in the future and follows the life story of Senya, a very strange guy who was created to be king of the planet, Rehnor.  The love of his life is an ordinary human girl named Katie who becomes a Captain in the Allied Spaceforce.  The whole series is written in first person narratives of the people around Senya.  I found this really interesting and fun to do because if any one person started to get boring, I would just switch to another character.  It also gave me a chance to weave in a lot of other stories and twists and turns and then braid them altogether at later points.  That’s a lot more than 100 words I think.  Sorry.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

I don’t know.  There’s a lot of opinions on going indie and retaining your rights and royalties vs. having that big budget marketing and possible film exposures.  I’d love to have to make that decision though.  Bring them on!

Why should someone pick-up your book(s)?

They are fast paced and tell a twisted and convoluted story around the life of a very strange man who is surrounded by very normal and ordinary people.  My reviewers say the love story that runs throughout the tale is first rate.  The feedback I am getting from readers who have gone through books 1 – 3 but not 4 or 5 yet is just amazing to me.  I love to hear what the readers think of this character or that character.  The emotional responses to some of the characters just crack me up.  I’ve hinted to them of some of the directions the next 2 books will go and I’ll hear, “No, don’t do that.  Don’t let that happen”.  I know in Books 1 -3 I’ve made them laugh a lot and made them scream in frustration.  In Books 4 and 5, if I make them cry as well, I think I really will have accomplished something.

What formats is it/are they available in and where?

Books 1 – 3 are available now for Kindle.  Book 1 is also available in paperback. Book 2 will be in paperback by May 1.  Book 4 will be on Kindle by May 1 and Book 5, hopefully June 1.  I will release book 1 to Smashwords late May so it will be available on their ebook distribution channels as well.  Here are the links:

The Two Moons of Rehnor Series

The Boy who Lit up the Sky (Book 1) (UK | US)

My Enemy’s Son (Book 2) (UK | US)

Of Blood and Angels (Book 3) (UK | US)

Firestone Rings (Book 4) (UK|US)

The Days of the Golden Moons (Book 5) (UK|US)

Journey to Rehnor Series

The New Planet (Book 1) (UK|US)

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with an indie author (J Naomi Ay)

  1. Pingback: I’m on Indie eBooks today! « jnaomiay

  2. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  4. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  5. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

