Interview with an indie author (Richard Stephenson)

Richard Stephenson, author of Collapse

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

The smartass answer would be The SAS Survival Handbook by John Wiseman.  That’s cheating so I’ll pick another book.  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

Which authors influenced/influence you most?

Stephen King, Lee Child, Vince Flynn, J.K. Rowling, Michael Crichton, John Grisham.

What made you go indie?

I wanted to have total control of my work.  The royalties are of course much better when you go indie.  If I obtain success as an indie, I’ll gladly accept entrance into the world of the big publishers, as long as I don’t have to give up my rights to the electronic versions of my work.

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

Promotion.  No one is more enthusiastic about promoting my work than me.

What’s your least favourite part?

Editing.  I thought I had a grasp on the rules of grammar.  Turns out I’m a bit rusty.

Summarise your writing style (or books) in 100 words or less:

I’m always interested in survival stories, a true test of character and strength.  Disaster and chaos either makes people scared and desperate or brave and strong.  People of influence and power and simple folk alike are tested the same.  Sometimes it is a surprise who rises to the top and who is crushed to the bottom.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

Only if I could retain full rights to the electronic version of my work.

Why should someone pick-up your book(s)?

Because it is fast paced and in the spirit of “Lost”, most chapters end with a cliffhanger that keeps you reading.

What formats is it/are they available in and where?

EPUB and print.  Available at Amazon.  The free sneak peek is available at my website in multiple formats.

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Richard Stephenson)

  1. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  2. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  4. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

