Interview with an indie author (Marsha Cornelius)

Marsha Cornelius, author of H10 N1

If you were trapped on a desert island, and a magical talking stork could bring you one book (not yours) which would it be?

You scared me there for a second with that magical talking stork. Wasn’t sure what it might be bringing me. But if it’s a book, I think I would like some sort of anthology of different authors. That way I would have a variety of writing styles to choose from.

Which authors influenced you most?

I’m not sure if these authors influenced me, but I certainly enjoy reading John Sandford, Nelson DeMille, Robert B. Parker, Lee Childs. Yes, I know . . . all male authors. Recently, I’ve gotten into Martha Grimes. And I’ve read a lot of Patricia Cornwell. I read a lot of women authors, as well, and now that I’m thinking about it, they probably influenced the romantic relationship between my two main characters, Rick and Taeya.

What made you go indie?

I have an agent who tried for over a year to find me a publisher. Each time she got rejected, it was for a different reason. Some editors like my two main characters, others didn’t. Of all the rejections, we couldn’t find two who agreed on why they wouldn’t commit to the book. My agent finally suggested that I self-publish.

It’s interesting, now that I’m getting reviews for H10 N1, a lot of reviewers have conflicting opinions on the book, too. Everyone seems to like something different in the story.

What’s your favourite part of indie publishing?

I guess my favorite part is not losing creative control of my work. Although I have never written for a traditional publisher, I get the impression that they will request changes to your manuscript to try and fit a particular market. They are so profit driven, that I think they follow formulas in hopes of insuring a book’s success.

What’s your least favourite part?

My least favorite part of indie publishing is the marketing. But I’d be doing that myself even if I was with a large company. They don’t offer help to first time authors like they used to. Maybe once a writer has proven herself, but not in the beginning.

Summarise your writing style in 100 words or less:

Wow! That’s a tough question. I guess my style is stark reality. I like to get pretty descriptive. For instance, in my book H10 N1, about a flu pandemic gone awry, people are very sick. I really got into describing their symptoms, their appearance, and even what the world looks like now that so many people are dying. Then I throw some humor in to help break the tension.

If you were offered a book-deal would you take it?

Good question. Maybe I’d take a book deal for a hardback or paperback because the traditional publishers can get you into the big-box stores. But why would I need them for e-books? I’ve got Amazon for that.

Why should someone pick-up your book?

I think H10 N1 is a fun read. It’s got a lot of detail about how this flu pandemic wipes out a lot of the civilization, and how my two main characters team up to survive the aftermath, but it’s also pretty entertaining. It’s what I consider a beach read. Nothing too heavy or philosophical.

What formats is it available in and where?

H10 N1 is currently in the Kindle Direct Select program (In the US | In the UK), but I may soon branch out to Barnes and Noble’s Nook, Sony’s i-readers, and Smashwords.

The Ups and Downs of Being Dead was also released in June on Kindle.

To keep up to date with future releases you can find the author at their website.

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Interview with an indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with an indie author (Marsha Cornelius)

  1. Pingback: H10 N1, by M.R. Cornelius | indie e-books

  2. Pingback: Why go indie? | indie e-books

  3. Pingback: Influences | indie e-books

  4. Pingback: Would you take a book deal? | indie e-books

  5. Pingback: Pros and cons of going indie | indie e-books

Leave a Reply

