Why you need an editor

We all have our blind spots.  I, for example, always confuse independant and independent, or effect and affect.  No one is infallible. On a rainy day I might go through this blog  so I can remove these errors (and more). If I had an editor I’m sure these posts would read better, but then I’m not a professional writer and I don’t plan to be one either.  For now, I’m quite happy ambling through a world of indie work to see what’s on offer and how fiction might evolve outside of the ‘global marketing’ mind-set. Also, I like coding, which is why I’m building a website for authors (perhaps I was inspired by knowing a few aspiring authors who could have benefitted from some independent help).

That said, if I ever did choose to write, I would probably bite-the-bullet and hire an editor.  I realise that this is an expensive habit, so what is the alternative if you’re trying to publish on a shoestring?

1) Ask family and/or friends to proofread your work.
This should at least remove glaring errors.

2) Open your work up to ‘social editing’. 
i.e. dedicate a part of your author website to readers, where they can list any spelling mistakes or formatting problems and acknowledge them in any future release of that book. Not only does this add a layer of interaction but it also actively helps to improve your work a great example of which can be found here.

3) Arrange to split royalities with a trained editor.
Not sure how you would arrange that, perhaps they’re a friend, or they read your book and was impressed.  I think it would be worth investigating though.

Any other ideas?

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Indie Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why you need an editor

  1. Oo, I have an idea!

    As a professional editor, I often offer *partials* to those on tight budgets. The benefit of having only part of your work edited is that you’ll learn what some of your common errors are, and hopefully pick up pointers on how to improve your writing. You can then apply what you learn to the rest of your piece and improve it for less.

    Great post. 🙂

  2. That is a good idea! 🙂 If you’re proficient enough in MS Word you could also write macros to automatically check for those errors too. (Or use the find/replace function).

Leave a Reply

