The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

Here’s an example of what I’d class a 6 star…

Rating: 6 stars*

Genre: High fantasy (see genre map below)

Publisher: Gollancz

*see ‘general rules’

Genre map for Name of the wind

This one had me losing sleep, skipping work, and left me generally useless until I’d managed to reach the final page, at which point I was pulling my hair out trying to get hold of the next book… However disruptive that may be for my social life it’s generally a good indicator for the book in question.

You begin this book with Kote, the quiet bartender in an out-of the way village who you quickly discover is not all he appears to be.  Eventually you’re introduced to Kvothe, an incredibly talented child who grew up to become the infamous ‘Kingkiller’ eventually resorting to faking his own death as a bid to escape attention.  Once discovered by Chronicler, a travelling scribe, he agrees to tell his story but demands 3 days to do so.  The first book covers the first of these three days where we learn how Kvothe came to learn magic in a desire to learn the Name of the Wind, and earned the first of his many titles ‘Kvothe the bloodless’.  From the start we’re warned that this story will span 3 books and I suspect that a subsequent trilogy will cover what happens next, as clearly Kvothe’s story will not be limited to how he became so infamous.

Although I may list this book as one of my favourite fantasy (debut) novels to date, opinion is still divided.  There are thousands of reviews online (just check out amazon.com or goodreads) and the negative reviews make for fascinating reading.  This got me thinking again about how we can describe a book (see genres), which I’ll be posting on separately today.

The only grumble I have with the book/series?

a) That I’ll have to wait for the next installment(s).  Yes I’m aware that Wise Man’s Fear is out already, but I can see that one being quickly devoured too…

b) The extortionate price.  £4.99 for an ebook that’s available as paperback, £10.99 for the second novel that’s only available as hardback.  Seriously? I’m half tempted to wait until next year when the paperback version comes out… 😦  

For a book of this length however it could be argued that it’s a reasonable price.  It’s just that I think I’d prefer for the money to be squeezed out of me in smaller installments by say, splitting the book into a few parts (easily done with the kindle…).  Perhaps then I’d succeed in getting some sleep while I considered buying the next one…

For those interested in the art of good book marketing the author is also very active in interacting with his fans at his own webpage and goodreads author profile.  If you want to get a feel of how important this can be then check out the Write to Publish blog by Robin Sullivan where only last week she was discussing the imporatnce of a goodreads author profile for marketing a new book.

About indie e-books

http://indieebooks.co.uk is aimed at providing a common platform for indie writers and publishers to show-case their work. The content is kept limited to one (free) short story per author to give the reader an idea of the writing style and talent involved and to help forward them on to more substantial work.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. Pingback: Genres: Thinking outside the box (Part 2) | indieebooks

  2. Redhead says:

    The Name of the Wind single handedly turned me into a fantasy fan. I devoured the 2nd book, and am eagerly waiting for the third. It says something about Rothfuss, his writing style, and his fanbase that most of us are fine that the 3rd book will come out whenever it comes out. We don’t want to rush it. We don’t want the end of the story to happen any sooner than it has to.

Leave a Reply

